Aug 14 AT 10:36 AM Evan Selleck 0 Comments

Google adds support for 30 new languages to voice dictation


Sometimes you just aren’t able to type, and using your voice to get a message across is the best option. Having your language supported is a requirement for that particular feature, and so Google has just added a numberĀ of new languages to its voice dictation list.

Today Google announced that it is adding 30 new languages to its support for voice dictation. As a result, these languages can be used in various apps, including Gboard for Android, Voice Search, and many others. As for the languages added, voice dictation now supports Javanese (Indonesia), Lao (Laos), Latvian (Latvia), and many others. A full list of the new additions is just below.

It’s worth noting that Google has stated that these languages will be added to apps like Translate soon, but no specific date has been provided.

Here’s the full list:

  • Amharic (Ethiopia)
  • Armenian (Armenia)
  • Azerbaijani (Azerbaijani)
  • Bengali (Bangladesh, India)
  • English (Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Tanzania)
  • Georgian (Georgia)
  • Gujarati (India)
  • Javanese (Indonesia)
  • Kannada (India)
  • Khmer (Cambodian)
  • Lao (Laos)
  • Latvian (Latvia)
  • Malayalam (India)
  • Marathi (India)
  • Nepali (Nepal)
  • Sinhala (Sri Lanka)
  • Sundanese (Indonesia)
  • Swahili (Tanzania, Kenya)
  • Tamil (India, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Malaysia)
  • Telugu (India)
  • Urdu (Pakistan, India)

Google is also rolling out a new feature for English speakers, which, if you love emoji, will be good news. Google says it now supports being able to say an emoji that you want to use, and the emoji will pop up in your message. For now it only supports English, but Google says additional languages will gain support soon.

How often do you use voice dictation?

Source: Google

Evan is a pretty big fan of technology, from phones to video game consoles and everything in between.

    Most Tweeted This Week